THREE YEARS

2015-10-25 14.47.35

Maybe I will never be all the things that I want to be
But now is not the time to cry now’s the time to find out why
I think you’re the same as me we see things they’ll never see you and I
We’re gonna live forever

Oasis – Live Forever

There’s not a lot else to say really, the words to one of Russell’s favourite songs do actually sum it all up. There’s no point in wishing things had been different; you’ve just got to get on with life and take everything it throws at you – good and bad. When people ask how we’ve coped over the last three years, I always give the same answer – we’ve coped because we didn’t have a choice. The only option we had was to pick up the fragments of our lives and slowly piece them back together; we’re still trying, it’s a long process, it really will take forever.

This is never going to end, so when well-intentioned people talk about “closure”, my first response is to think ****, but then common sense kicks in and I try to explain a bit more politely just why that will never happen. We don’t want to shut the door on Russell and move on as if this had never happened. He will always be there with us – in our thoughts, the words of a song, places he went, foods he liked, things he used to say.

As far as I am concerned he really is gonna live forever.

2 thoughts on “THREE YEARS

  1. The first words to enter my head after reading this was ‘Here here ‘ yes, I totally get it as they say . If I was younger a small air punch might have been in order ! X

Leave a Reply

